Saturday, March 26, 2016

Burning Midnight {Sneak Peek}

Welcome to Sneak Peek Saturday!

Sneak Peek Saturday on Reading List  a glimpse into what I am reading currently

Current book:
Burning Midnight 
by Will McIntosh

Friday, March 25, 2016

New on the Shelves {February 2016}


This post is late in coming...almost a month late! Sorry friends, I've fallen behind on reading and blogging. I am pretty much in survival mode these days. Having two kiddos is HARD, especially when the baby boy may have a dairy intolerance! BUT you didn't come here to hear me lament, we came for BOOKS!! So here is what I added to the shelves in February:

Saturday, March 19, 2016

Wednesday, March 16, 2016

Melancholy and Limerence Tour {Review}


Limerence_Banner1
Welcome to my tour stop for the new adult science fiction romance Limerence by Charlotte McConaghy. Limerence is the third book in The Cure Series. The first two books, Fury and Melancholy, are also featured in the tour. Check out the tour page for the full schedule.

About the Books:

Fury CoverFury

When emotions are erased from the world, creating a civilization of mindless drones, only those with fury can survive.

On the same day each year Josephine Luquet wakes naked, shivering and covered in blood that is not her own. Under the cold gaze of the blood moon she is someone else entirely, but when dawn breaks her memories vanish and she is left with only an icy horror, a burning fury. Amid a sea of 'drones', she alone hasn’t been cured. 

Then she meets Luke. He isn’t like the other drones. With secrets behind his eyes, he is the only one determined to help Josephine discover the truth before the next blood moon rises.

But time is running out. Is Luke willing to risk his life to be near her? Does he truly understand what violence she is capable of?

Raw and full of passion, Fury is a story of love in a dystopian world, and how much we are willing to forgive in the struggle to remember our humanity.

***
Melancholy
mel_om
Here in the west they know a lot about hope. They know how to ration it just as they do with food and water.

Josephine is at last free of the blood moon. But in a desperate rush to find help for a comatose Luke, she discovers the strange and dangerous world of the resistance, and it is unlike any world Josi has known.

In the west they believe in fury – they cultivate and encourage it. The unruly people of the resistance know that to survive means to fight. But can they fight the inevitable cure for sadness that rushes steadily closer?

In the action-packed sequel to Fury, everything Josi believes about herself will be challenged. Haunted by atrocities and betrayals, she must find the strength to trust again, and decide how far she is willing to go to fight the inevitable. 

At times both brutal and sweet, Melancholy is the story of second chances and finding love in a ruined world.

***


Limerence-Omnibus_DEV03Limerence
No injection can cure love. Only life can do that.

Deep in the darkest tunnels hide the last of the resistance fighters. Hunted by the savage Furies and the ruthless Bloods, they live in constant peril. The only means of survival is to seek strength in family and find courage in love. So what happens when love is cured, scoured away, leaving death in its place?

In the final battle for freedom, there are no lines that won't be crossed. And for Josi this means becoming the creature she fears most of all: the girl with a blood moon heart.

The gripping conclusion to the dystopian trilogy The Cure, Limerence is a love story for the monsters within.

Perfect for fans of Pierce Brown, Laini Taylor and Maggie Stiefvater.

***

About the Author:

copyrighted
Charlotte has been writing from a young age, and has published several novels including the science-fiction series The Cure and the romantic fantasy series The Chronicles of Kaya. She studied a Masters of Screenwriting at the Australian Film, Television and Radio School, and is the author of the Australian Writer's Guild award-winning screenplay Fury – adapted from her novel of the same name. She lives in Sydney, writing novels and working on both film and television projects, as well as an upcoming graphic novel Skin

Connect with the author:

 Website | Facebook | Twitter

***

My Thoughts:
I read Fury about two years ago now. I really enjoyed it and always meant to finish the trilogy. This tour gave me that opportunity. 

Book two, Melancholy, picks up right where book one left off. Luke is in a coma from being injected with the anger cure and both he and Jose are being taken to the resistance group. I struggled to connect with the characters again after such a long break. Jose, or Dual as she comes to be called, is way more moody, and even self centered, than previously. She is stuck in her own head surrounded by her own problems. The members of the Inferno (the resistance group) don't exactly welcome her with warm, friendly arms either. 

It took me awhile to accept her bipolar attitude, but about 100 pages in the book really picks up. As Jose gets out of her own head, we get to connect to a new cast of characters and explore the intrigue and mysteries of the Inferno. There are a ton of secrets and action right at the end that had me flipping through the pages fast as I could.

"Limerence" was a bit trickier. The reader really has to pay attention to the dates and the character as they read along. Even though I picked this up immediately after 'Melancholy', jumping around the timelines really threw me for a loop. Several major things are revealed right at the beginning of the story, and then we are taken back to discover how it all happened. 

This series has plenty of action, evil government, and character development. The way both Luke and Dual change from book one to the end of book three was pretty remarkable. If you like any of those things, or a complicated love story, this series is right up your alley. McConaghy writes like a movie which makes it easy to picture everything as you read along. I think this fits perfectly as she did study screenwriting! 

I do have to note for my sensitive readers: this book contains violence (nothing I found overly graphic), language, and sexual content that I found to grow in it's graphic nature. 

GIVEAWAY:
One winner will receive digital copies of Fury, Melancholy and Limerence 
Open Worldwide
Ends March 30
Giveaway is provided by the publisher and hosts are not responsible. Must be 13 or older to enter and have parental permission if under 17. Void where prohibited by law. No purchase necessary to win.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
This event was organized by CBB Book Promotions.

Saturday, March 12, 2016

Limerence {Sneak Peek}

Welcome to Sneak Peek Saturday!

Sneak Peek Saturday on Reading List  a glimpse into what I am reading currently

Current book:
Limerence
by Charlotte McConaghy

Thursday, March 10, 2016

Author Interview with Jody Hedlund

 Jody Hedlund is a best-selling and award-winning author who loves fairy-tales and happily-ever afters. She makes her home in Midland, MI with her husband and five children. When she's not writing another of her page-turning stories, you can usually find her sipping coffee, eating chocolate, and reading. 
Contact Jody: I hang out on Facebook here: Author Jody Hedlund
 I also love to chat on Twitter: @JodyHedlund 
My home base is at my website: jodyhedlund.com 
For lots of fun pictures, follow me on Pinterest: pinterest.com/jodyhedlund 
I get personal on Instagram: instagram.com/JodyHedlund/ 
Or you're welcome to email me at: jodyhedlund@jodyhedlund.com

Wednesday, March 9, 2016

A Daring Sacrifice {Review}

A Daring Sacrifice (An Uncertain Choice, #2)
A Daring Sacrifice by Jody Hedlund
An Uncertain Choice #2
Visit the Author's website HERE
Publisher: Zondervan
Publishing Date: March 1, 2016
In a reverse twist on the Robin Hood story, a young medieval maiden stands up for the rights of the mistreated, stealing from the rich to give to the poor. All the while, she fights against her cruel uncle who has taken over the land that is rightfully hers. Forced to live in the woods and hide with the poor people she's grown to love, she works to save and protect them, but she never anticipates falling in love with the wealthy knight who represents all she's come to despise.

Saturday, March 5, 2016

Melancholy {Sneak Peek Link Up}

Welcome to Sneak Peek Saturday!

Sneak Peek Saturday on Reading List  a glimpse into what I am reading currently

Current book:
Melancholy 
by Charlotte McConaghy

Tuesday, March 1, 2016

February 2016 Wrap Up

 
February FLEW by! Am I the only one?? Mostly this month was about settling into my role as a mother of two. Baby Boy was born in January, yes, but then he quickly earned himself another hospital stay after contacting RSV from his big sister. I think he experienced some PTSD from the whole deal because Baby Boy demanded feedings and snuggles almost non-stop after we got back home. 
Baby Boy's 3 week birthday <3

February had some great gatherings as well. The SUPERBOWL in which I had been rooting loudly for the Panthers. We had to scale our party back a bit as we were still a tad concerned about Baby Boy :/ Hubby and I celebrated 12 years of togetherness with an hour of kid free time at his favorite restaurant in town (go wine!). Than my BFF had a housewarming party and then a baby shower! I still can't believe she's about to have a baby girl! Can't wait to meet that little darling (aka future wife of Baby Boy :D)

Husband also went back to work this month so I've been struggling to figure out parenting a toddler and newborn, plus trying to find time to read and blog, plus trying to do everything else life requires...like cleaning.